House of Hoo-Hoo

Public wiki for the 1904 Louisiana Purchase Exposition
Revision as of 05:07, 10 November 2022 by WikiSysop (talk | contribs)
House of Hoo-Hoo
House of Hoo-Hoo

The House of Hoo-Hoo was a clubhouse from the Concatenated Order of Lumberjacks, located on The Trail.

Etymology

Before the Fair

Description

It burned down in a fire on June, 24, 1904 but was rebuilt in less than 30 days. The House of Hoo-Hoo was made out of separate types of woods and utilized 139 different kinds of veneer. The name Hoo-Hoo originates from the lumberjack's shout.

It was located southwest of the Texas and Ohio Buildings. Hoo-Hoo was the name of an organization composed of lumbermen, saw mill men and lumber newspapermen. This organization raised $100,000 for participation and continued representation during the entire exposition period. The membership was limited to 9,999 and the initiation fee was $9.99.

After the Fair

See also

Notes

References

External links